Skip to content

simmerstewandsizzle

Crème brûlée to fried chicken, trial and errors in cooking

These muffins are so moist and have the perfect amount of pumpkin taste you know you are craving this time of year.  In fact, when I told my husband I was making pumpkin muffins he frowned and I promised him he only had to take one bite, because let’s be honest, he is my one and only official taster in this whole operation (besides myself, of course).  When he tasted them, he liked them so much he’s practically eaten all 12 and I only made them a few days ago.  They are that good I tell ya!

These are so good, they practically melt in your mouth.  The original recipe didn’t have the thin icing on top but I thought it would be a nice addition.  Feel free to leave it out if you don’t like icing.  Also, I will admit, I may have gone a tad bit crazy with the icing and used more than I should have…but I just couldn’t stop.  You’ll see this in the pictures…

Anyway, you will need:

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon pumpkin spice mix

1 and 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 and 1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Begin by whisking together the flour and baking powder

In another bowl mix together pumpkin puree, oil, eggs, pumpkin spice mix, sugar, baking soda and salt

Then, combine dry and wet ingredients.  Whisk the flour in slowly in 3 increments.

Now you’re ready to bake!  I used muffin liners and filled each one 3/4 full.  This recipe makes 12 muffins.

Bake for 25 minutes or until you put a fork in the middle of a muffin and it comes out clean.

Meanwhile…you make the delicious icing!

Thin icing recipe:

2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons milk

You may need to add more milk depending on the consistency you’re looking for.

Mix these all together and see if you need to add milk.  You want the icing to drip off a fork when dipped in the bowl, but not be so watery that it doesn’t cling to the fork at all.

When the muffins are done you can drizzle as much icing as you want on top.  As you can see I went a little berserk, but hey, I really like icing.  Please don’t judge me.

I think I’m going to make another batch and take them into work.  These are just the perfect treat to get me in the mood for fall!

